Last weekend saw East Midlands female excellence celebrated in the prestigious Women’s Awards, formerly the East Midlands Women’s Awards (EMWA).

The fourth annual awards ceremony was held online and hosted by BBC Radio Leicester presenters Rupal Rajani, Dave Andrews, and the Women’s Awards founder, Sandra Pollock. This year’s Headline Sponsor was Creative Directions, who were responsible for the Award’s rebranding.

The overall award for Inspirational Female Leader of the Year 2020 was Albey Law-Smith, who was presented her award live at her home.

Sandra Pollock, Founder of the Women’s Awards, said: “2020 will be a year that none of us will forget for many reasons. So, let us also ensure that we recognise and celebrate the good things that are happening across the East Midlands.”

On Albey’s win, Sandra added: ““Excellent and inspiring leadership transcends today; it looks to create inner visions of a better tomorrow. I was impressed by the work and vision of [Albey] for all of these reasons and more.”

Dluxe were honoured to once again be media partners and support the awards. Managing Director Kevin Urquhart: ” For the fourth year running, we are proud to have been associated with The Women’s Awards, as media partner.  This year has thrown many challenges to the awards industry, but it’s inspiring to see how The Women’s Awards has responded with style and integrity.

This year’s nominees and shortlisted finalists were, easily, of the highest standard yet.  To be fair to all, every application was read in detail, marked against firm criteria and awarded on merit.  These awards show the entire county – and beyond – that there are some seriously talented women making waves.  Who rule the world”

Winners were:

Outstanding Woman in Care Services Award 2020
(Sponsored by Uppingham First)

WINNER: Joanne Warren
Finalist: Amy Thornton

Outstanding Woman in Education Award 2020
(Sponsored by Cosy Direct)

WINNER: Albey Law-Smith
Finalist: Arran Roby Kaur Stirton

Outstanding Woman in Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) Award 2020
(Sponsored by Corporate Motion)

WINNER: Martha Clokie
Finalist: Dr Sarah Casewell

Outstanding Woman of Community Impact – Charity & Voluntary Award 2020
(Sponsored by Inspiring You CIC)

WINNER: Lorraine Lewis
Finalist:  Khudeja Amer-Sharif

Female Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2020
(Sponsored by Finance Lab)

WINNER: Carla Garey
Finalist: Sam Rathling

Outstanding Woman in Professional Services Award 2020
(Sponsored by Arbonne)

WINNER: Bhumika Parmar
Finalist: Lindsey Atterbury

Outstanding Senior Female Executive Award 2020
(Sponsored by Sandra Pollock)

WINNER: Liz Clarke
Finalist: Anne Ashman

Outstanding Female Leader in a Market Town Award 2020
(Sponsored by Women in Management UK)

WINNER: Lucy Stephenson
Finalist: Jenny Cross

Outstanding BAME Female Leader of the Year Award 2020
(Sponsored by Dare to Diva)

WINNER: Pamela Campbell-Morris
Finalist: Khudeja Amer-Sharif

Outstanding Woman in Arts, Media & Music Award 2020
(Sponsored by Dluxe Magazine)

WINNER: Laura Wilkinson
Finalist: Jane Hearst

Inspirational Male Supporting Female Leaders Award 2020
(Sponsored by Open Mind Training & Development Ltd)

WINNER: Simon Cole
Finalist: Tom Bates

East Midlands Inspirational Female Leader 2020
(Sponsored by Creative Direction)

WINNER: Albey Law-Smith

For information, visit
You May Also Like